• Sign In or New Customer? Start Here


HotBin Composter: Reviews

HotBin Composter

Enjoy rich compost all year round with this brilliant, environmentally friendly HotBin Composter.

It can handle virtually all UK domestic food and garden waste and is the size of a wheelie bin. Manufactured from expanded polypropylene making it 100% recyclable, it is a 200 litre hot, aerobic composting bin that can easily achieve a temperature of 60°C which makes it 32 times faster than traditional composting bins and safer to recycle more food types. Most homes only compost vegetable peelings and tea bags. Items like plate scrapings, cooked food, rice, pasta, leftover bread, cakes etc are not recycled as they can attract vermin, generate a smell or create a yucky mess. The HotBin composts all food waste including meat and fish and the clever design ensures there are no odours, flies or rats to worry about.

This is the really smart way to compost more food and garden waste as, quite simply, you can put more in your HotBin and you are guaranteed fantastically rich compost quickly. For best results wait for 30 days for ‘mulching’ compost and 90 days for ‘mature’ compost. When composting food waste, the HotBin uses a ‘bulking agent’ (composted wood chip) to help maintain the airflow. Your bin comes with a bag to get you started and you can make your own by ‘chipping’ garden branches. If you follow the step by step set up guide you should get your HotBin to 60°C within 48 hours.

Remember: when it gets going it is hot and it will only stay hot with regular feeding.

Your HotBin comes assembled and ready to use and features:

  • Internal thermometer for tracking exact temperature in top layer of waste
  • Airtight lid to reduce smells and unwanted visitors
  • Aeration valve plate to moderate temperature
  • Bio filter unit to stop any unfriendly smells
  • Insulated walls to keep it hot to help rapid composting
  • Aeration base plate to disperse air within the bin
  • Easy to remove hatch door panel to take out mature compost
  • 40 litre bag of bulking agent (composted wood chip)
  • Extra thermometer for tracking temperature at different locations
  • Raking stick
  • Winter kick start heater
  • How to use guide
  • 3 year guarantee

Dimensions:
Outer: 55 x 62.5 x 114.5cm high
Inner: 45 x 45 x 98cm high
Internal Capacity: Approx. 200 litre
Weight empty: 8kg
Weight when full: 100kg (beyond safe lifting limit)
Colour: Black

Click here for the HotBin guide.

As seen on the BBC's Beechgrove Garden.

£184.99
< Back to the HotBin Composter Please login to write a review
Easy to use.
posted on 24/01/2017 19:24:47 by Viv

Great idea, easy instructions .Can't wait for the end result.

Overall
Quality
Value

posted on 16/12/2016 22:24:01 by keithhudson856

Very well made bin, just started it off so should see results in a couple of months. Seems straight forward

Overall
Quality
Value
A product that really works
posted on 06/12/2016 18:49:49 by IRB

It's too soon to give a full review but the astonishing aspect is the way it gobbles up garden refuse, household scraps, bundles of shredded paper etc and the like at lightening speed - A WHEELIE BIN A WEEK!

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent product
posted on 23/11/2016 16:36:14 by claref

Service, as always from Greenfingers, was excellent. Instructions very easy to follow and I am now looking forward to my first batch of compost. This product is not cheap, but bearing in mind the amount of money spent at garden centres on compost, I don't think it will be too long before it has paid for itself.

Overall
Quality
Value
It's great
posted on 20/11/2016 10:50:50

It is great we can't believe how hot it gets You should make an outdoor oven like this it would be great for slow cooking.

Overall
Quality
Value
New toy!
posted on 04/11/2016 15:25:17 by Lyn

Just got this and so have only started to use it, but yesterday I was talking to someone who has one who says it is brilliant. When the bin arrived it had been damaged in transit and I cannot rate Greenfingers highly enough. In less than an hour they had contacted the supplier and the courier and a new one arrived within the week, now that is what I call service.

Overall
Quality
Value
IF ONLY
posted on 21/10/2016 19:43:57 by Spica

4 stars would have been 5 stars if only somebody hadn't used a knife(Stanley knife ?) prior to delivery,which subsequently left a long cut down the front panel of the hot bin. As to the efficacy of the product that is still on hold as I haven't been able set it in action due to a recent shoulder operation ! Hope every thing will be okay, I intend to set the h/bin up in my greenhouse.

Greenfingers Says:
Thank you for your recent review and taking the time to contact us. We are sorry to hear your order arrived damaged. We have emailed you in regards to this. Please accept our apologies. Kind Regards Greenfingers Customer Care Team

Overall
Quality
Value
Hotbin Great piece of kit
posted on 16/09/2016 23:58:04 by Vic Jones

A great piece of kit, I didn't have much confidence that it would heat up the way it was claimed, but it has . I have always been a great believer in making my own compost and I feel that the Hotbin composter is the answer. Very pleased with the product and the company.

Overall
Quality
Value
expensive but worth it
posted on 24/10/2013 08:58:32 by jonmac

Very expensive product for an expanded polystyrene box but works wonderfully well just as described in the promotional blurb so i reckon it is worth it.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great!
posted on 19/07/2012 21:40:32 by Mark A.

I'm happy with it. It does get through a lot of my garden and kitchen scraps and I haven't had any problems with smell or vermin.

Overall
Quality
Value
works so far
posted on 22/06/2012 18:45:01 by ikkedus

We had no problems to get the bin started. It only took two days to heat up. So far we keep on filling it up, the level keeps going down fast and the temperature remains high. It is too early to give long-term feedback, but it is very promising. It takes up little space and eats huge amounts of green with just a bit of bulk (or dried stems, cardboard pieces etc.).

Overall
Quality
Value

Why Greenfingers?

Next Working Day Delivery
Our Price Promise
Finance Available