• Sign In or New Customer? Start Here
SIGN IN
Your basket
0 Items - £0.00


HotBin Composter: Reviews

HotBin Composter

The HotBin Composter can handle virtually all UK domestic food and garden waste and is the size of a wheelie bin. Manufactured from expanded polypropylene making it 100% recyclable, it is a 200 litre hot, aerobic composting bin that can easily achieve a temperature of 60°C which makes it 32 times faster than traditional composting bins and safer to recycle more food types. Most homes only compost vegetable peelings and tea bags. Items like plate scrapings, cooked food, rice, pasta, leftover bread, cakes etc are not recycled as they can attract vermin, generate a smell or create a yucky mess. The design of the unit and the inclusion of an integrated bio-filter help to minimise the attraction of rats to the unit.

This is the really smart way to compost more food and garden waste as, quite simply, you can put more in your HotBin and you are guaranteed fantastically rich compost quickly. For best results wait for 30 days for ‘mulching’ compost and 90 days for ‘mature’ compost. Bulking agent should be added into the unit along with some shredded paper or torn cardboard EVERY TIME new material is added. Without it being added every time, the contents of the HOTBIN will turn anaerobic.

Your bin comes with a bag to get you started and you can make your own by ‘chipping’ garden branches. Once you have created a base layer in the unit, approximately 40cm deep, the HOTBIN should reach 40 - 60°C within 48 – 72 hours.

Your HotBin comes assembled and ready to use and features:

  • Airtight lid to reduce smells and unwanted visitors
  • Aeration valve plate to moderate temperature
  • Bio filter unit to stop any unfriendly smells
  • Insulated walls to keep it hot to help rapid composting
  • Aeration base plate to disperse air within the bin
  • Easy to remove hatch door panel to take out mature compost
  • A 25 litre bag of bulking agent (partially composted woodchip) is included with the unit.
  • Raking stick and How to use guide

The lid thermometer gives users an indication of the temperature which the HOTBIN is operating at and an additional long stemmed thermometer for taking the HOTBIN’s internal temperature. The internal thermometer can be used to check that the HOTBIN is operating at hot composting temperatures of 40-60°C before temperature sensitive materials such as pet waste and weeds are added to ensure they are safely destroyed.

The kick start bottle is designed to be used when starting the HOTBIN, returning from holiday or if no fresh material has been added recently as it can help kick start the bacteria’s decomposition process.

  • 3 year guarantee

    Dimensions:
    Outer: 55 x 62.5 x 114.5cm high
    Inner: 45 x 45 x 98cm high
    Internal Capacity: Approx. 200 litre
    Weight empty: 8kg
    Weight when full: 100kg (beyond safe lifting limit)

  • £184.99
    < Back to the HotBin Composter Please login to write a review
    Very Hotbin
    posted on 07/07/2017 21:18:43 by anwalfar

    I was surprised that something costing that much was made of polystyrene. The lid needs to be wiggled every time I try to close it and I am worried that this will eventually cause bits to break off. I was a bit worried that it would not heat up but the opposite has happened; it has got too hot and even leaving the valve open for a couple of hours, as recommended by Hotbin, did not cool it down. I left the lid itself open for an hour or so and that did bring it down to an acceptable level.

    Greenfingers Says:
    Thank you for your review. If the internal HOTBIN temperature is below 40°c - close the valve by pushing down on the half closest the close arrow until it is only open 2mm. (Note the valve should not completely close, ie lay flat . Never force it fully closed - the HOTBIN will not work). If the internal HOTBIN temperature is above 70°c - open the valve by pushing down on the half closest the open arrow. (It will normally only take a couple of hours to cool back below 60°c). Kind Regards Greenfingers Customer Care

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    good value
    posted on 28/06/2017 12:37:25 by msimpson11

    Very good delivery.Set up composter, instructions good.All working well now waiting for first batch of compost.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Looking Forward to the Compost
    posted on 24/06/2017 19:44:31 by LCK

    I chose the Hotbin after reading the reviews to enable me to have compost quicker than the traditional method which I've never been successful using. Also as we are bordered by fields I wanted a bin to be as vermin proof as possible. It arrived within the week. We set the Hotbin up in the middle of a heatwave and it soon reached the high temperature required. It is still early days but I am looking forward to harvesting my first batch of compost. I hope it works to justify the high cost

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Great item wish I got it sooner instead of the 3 normal composer's I've got
    posted on 22/06/2017 16:21:40 by Peterpeach66

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Love it
    posted on 09/06/2017 17:16:58 by bill jenkins

    Did not realise how composting could be such fun!

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Expecting good results!
    posted on 24/05/2017 08:58:52 by rowena Marshall

    The product itself seems really good. I was surprised how light it was but I have started it off and the temperature has already risen to 30 degrees. Hopefully it will compost as well as they say. Time will tell but the signs are good. I was less than impressed with the delivery service though. I was told it was coming on a certain day, so waited in all day and it didn't come! They said the van had broken down but they could have texted me as they had my number!

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    A great investment.
    posted on 23/05/2017 21:43:03 by ch1959uk

    The hotbin is brilliant and is well worth buying. But that apart, it is the aftercare service that is outstanding. I had a few questions to ask as a newbie to the whole composting gardening thing, and the advice i got was outstanding. The person i spoke to was so happy to help me and understood i was new to composting and answered all my questions thoroughly. Its the sort of service you hope to get but rarely do.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    better than expected
    posted on 10/04/2017 21:45:54 by chocolate biscuit

    I had been considering hotbin for a while and was a little bit scepticle of the claims made for it but after researching reviews decided to try it out. When it arrived it seeme to be well made and fairly robust, the instructions although slightly complicated are well presented and easy to follow. once stated I had a temperature of over 50c within 36 hours and it has stayed there todate. Have not yet had any compost but all the signs are very positive.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Love it
    posted on 19/03/2017 16:38:38 by Jacky

    Hot bin working well, to soon yet to use compost. All in all very pleased with purchase.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Easy to use.
    posted on 24/01/2017 19:24:47 by Viv

    Great idea, easy instructions .Can't wait for the end result.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value

    posted on 16/12/2016 22:24:01 by keithhudson856

    Very well made bin, just started it off so should see results in a couple of months. Seems straight forward

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    A product that really works
    posted on 06/12/2016 18:49:49 by IRB

    It's too soon to give a full review but the astonishing aspect is the way it gobbles up garden refuse, household scraps, bundles of shredded paper etc and the like at lightening speed - A WHEELIE BIN A WEEK!

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Excellent product
    posted on 23/11/2016 16:36:14 by claref

    Service, as always from Greenfingers, was excellent. Instructions very easy to follow and I am now looking forward to my first batch of compost. This product is not cheap, but bearing in mind the amount of money spent at garden centres on compost, I don't think it will be too long before it has paid for itself.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    It's great
    posted on 20/11/2016 10:50:50

    It is great we can't believe how hot it gets You should make an outdoor oven like this it would be great for slow cooking.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    New toy!
    posted on 04/11/2016 15:25:17 by Lyn

    Just got this and so have only started to use it, but yesterday I was talking to someone who has one who says it is brilliant. When the bin arrived it had been damaged in transit and I cannot rate Greenfingers highly enough. In less than an hour they had contacted the supplier and the courier and a new one arrived within the week, now that is what I call service.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    IF ONLY
    posted on 21/10/2016 19:43:57 by Spica

    4 stars would have been 5 stars if only somebody hadn't used a knife(Stanley knife ?) prior to delivery,which subsequently left a long cut down the front panel of the hot bin. As to the efficacy of the product that is still on hold as I haven't been able set it in action due to a recent shoulder operation ! Hope every thing will be okay, I intend to set the h/bin up in my greenhouse.

    Greenfingers Says:
    Thank you for your recent review and taking the time to contact us. We are sorry to hear your order arrived damaged. We have emailed you in regards to this. Please accept our apologies. Kind Regards Greenfingers Customer Care Team

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Hotbin Great piece of kit
    posted on 16/09/2016 23:58:04 by Vic Jones

    A great piece of kit, I didn't have much confidence that it would heat up the way it was claimed, but it has . I have always been a great believer in making my own compost and I feel that the Hotbin composter is the answer. Very pleased with the product and the company.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    expensive but worth it
    posted on 24/10/2013 08:58:32 by jonmac

    Very expensive product for an expanded polystyrene box but works wonderfully well just as described in the promotional blurb so i reckon it is worth it.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Great!
    posted on 19/07/2012 21:40:32 by Mark A.

    I'm happy with it. It does get through a lot of my garden and kitchen scraps and I haven't had any problems with smell or vermin.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    works so far
    posted on 22/06/2012 18:45:01 by ikkedus

    We had no problems to get the bin started. It only took two days to heat up. So far we keep on filling it up, the level keeps going down fast and the temperature remains high. It is too early to give long-term feedback, but it is very promising. It takes up little space and eats huge amounts of green with just a bit of bulk (or dried stems, cardboard pieces etc.).

    Overall
    Quality
    Value

    Why Greenfingers?

    Next Working Day Delivery
    Our Price Promise
    Finance Available